top of page

Canadian Soccer Profile: An In-depth Analysis of Adnan Saffie.

This is the second time that I have interviewed Adnan Saffie. Each time he grows in confidence and maturity. This morning as we getting started I can see the changes since the last time we spoke. He’s put on weight and has more muscle mass and his stylish comb over is now a buzz-cut. Even though he’s at home he’s still in a stylish polo shirt. The forward put straight the rumours about his future, as well gave me an exclusive interview about his career, goals and how Coronavirus have impacted him as well as deep dive into his private life.

Adnan, if you’re ready we’ll get right into it as there are many questions that I am anxious to ask you.

Firstly, how is quarantine?

Quarantine isn’t that bad actually. I’ve used it as an opportunity to read more, and connect with my family and friends more. I’ve had a lot of time to think about different things.

You’re known for having a slick and stylish comb over, why the change?

To be very honest with you I needed a slight change, things in my life were changing so I decided to cut my hair to represent a new beginning. Like a phoenix rising from the ashes. But my friends weren’t too pleased at my decision. I got teased majorly by them.

Due to quarantine, how is your training schedule and diet? Is it harder or easier to comply with the schedule?

My training schedule and diet is actually going really well though my trainer and I have had to modify due to the gym closures. But resistance bands, push-ups, crunches, V-sit ups, and I have dumbbells. As for my diet for the most part its been on the straight path with a few cheat days. It’s definitely harder to maintain a schedule because the lack of social interaction, the gyms not being open and nothing having that many workout partners. I work out between 2-3 times a day, and my diet consist of mainly eating different types of carbs, different proteins, fruits and veggies, and protein shakes as well as maybe 2L of water.

How do you keep motivation during this pandemic?

Motivation is tricky to say the least. At the end of each day I write down things I did well and things I can improve on. I also have daily video calls with my trainer to make sure I’m on the right track. For me it’s all about improving myself.

Last time we spoke you mentioned you were excited to play with one of your friends; John Pappalardo at the National Level, how was that?

Unfortunately, John didn’t make it to the National Level, he chooses his studies and there is nothing wrong with that. He was a good player no doubt, but he chose a different path and to play at the top level requires a lot of sacrifices.

As I understand you were one of the youngest players invited to the training camp, what was that experience like?

It was a surreal experience, to represent your country, to play for the Maple Leaf and hear “O Canada” is literally living the dream. It was also a learning curve and I got to learn so much and adapt my game. They looked after me like I was their little brother when we went out but treated me like any other player during training. It was war during practice games.

From a young age, you’ve always competed with older players, what is that like and is there any added pressure on you to prove yourself?

There is and there isn’t at the same time. As a youngster you always want to prove yourself and especially against older players you want them to respect you, respect your game. The only way you can do that is if you play like they aren’t old. You just play the game you’ve always played.

You must have been given plenty of advice as a youngster, what are some of the advice that was given to you?

I was given plenty of advice, but probably the best advice that I was ever given was if I make a mistake, don’t dwell on it, fix it and move on because if you dwell on it, you lose concentration and your mind isn’t 100% on the next task you have to do.

What is one of the most importing things to you as a soccer player?

One of the most importing things to me is to make mistakes and listen to what my teammates, and coaches say because they can see things that possible I can’t or they can tell me things to improve.

How do your personal goals influence the team?

My first personal goal is to do anything that allows the team to win whether that means I play as a super sub or I start or I run back on defence or to score.

On any team, what is your role?

Well on all the teams I’ve been on I have been a leader or a main goal scoring threat. That is just how I’ve been. I love scoring, and leading.

What are some of the more factors that you’re concentrating on during each training session or during a game?

Each training session is different. I like to focus on different things whether its passing with my left foot, heading the ball or doing free-kicks. In games I like to concentrate on my positioning either on defence or attacking the defence.

What’s the biggest secret to your success?

Hard work, dedication, and an attitude to always be better. I’m not an over night success, I put in long hours of sweat, tears, and blood to achieve what I have achieved and to continue achieving more. I put in hours when people are sleeping, or relaxing.

Although there are many positives about being a professional soccer player what is the hardest thing?

The hardest thing is 100 percent time management, I still want to hang out with my friends and go out with them but at the same time I have responsibilities, and training and sponsorship requirements to attend.

Who are some players that you model your game after and why these players?

Without a doubt Cristiano Ronaldo. I try to take almost everything from his game, his attitude, his shooting style, positioning. But I also like to watch Marco Reus, Marcelo, Jaden Sancho.

What do you friends think about you? Do they know who you are?

Some know who I am and some don’t. Those that I am especially close too know exactly who I am. But I don’t care to be frank with you. I’m a normal guy who kicks a ball and hangs out with his friends.

So your friends keep you level headed?

They definitely do, I’m extremely lucky that I have such great friends. My close friends know not to inflate my ego too much because it is already inflated, but they also bring me back to earth when they call me out on something that I do wrong or something that I can improve on. I value them very much and especially those that continuous try to call me out and help me improve.

Usually with your schedule you’re busy, what do you on your time off?

I like to spend time with my family, and friends or read. But if I’m not doing that I’m playing another sport either basketball, football, or squash. I like to go shopping too or eat out at different places. I like to be busy like this past semester I played on an intramural basketball team and gained some close friends. We were close off the court as well as on the court.

How would you describe yourself?

I would say that I am athletic, confident in my own ability charming, honest, and loyal.

How would your friends describe you?

Dramatic, athletic, loyal, fun to be around and always hungry.

How do you deal with the pressure of being you?

I don’t really feel that there is pressure to be me, I know who I am and I have people that surround myself always help me. Sometimes I feel like I have to act a certain way in certain situations.

Who is the most under-rated player that you have played with, and which professional player do they remind you of?

That’s a very hard question, but the most under-rated player that I’ve played with is William Mclaughlin, he could play anywhere. Forward, Midfield, Defence. He defends and attacks like Marcelo, passes the ball through the needle likeToni Kroos, tackles like Pogba and plays like Angel Di Maria when he’s on the wings.

Who is your current dream 11?

I would play a 4-2-3-1 formation. Oblak as the keeper, Trent Alexander Arnold as right-back, Rafa Varane as right centre-back, Sergio Ramos as the left centre-back, Marcelo as the left-back, Toni Kroos and Kante as centre-mids, Mesult Ozil as the centre-attacking mid, Kylian Mbappe as the right-wing, Crisitiano Ronaldo as the striker and Lionel Messi as the right-wing.

How do you deal with the hate or critics that you receive?

I take it on the chin, people are allowed to say whatever they want but it doesn’t bother me. It doesn’t really impact me as much if anything it fuels my drive for excellence. Also, Ronaldo said “Your love makes me strong, your hate makes me unstoppable.” For anyone who says anything to me I just try to prove them wrong.

So a portion of the 2026 World Cup will be played in Toronto, are you excited to play in that? Who else do you think will play?

I’m so excited for that. I hope I’d be lucky enough to be in the squad. But to play in front of all my family and friends that would be a very special moment for me. Not to mention the pride of wearing the maple leaf once again. Well definitely Alphonso Davies will be there, but I hope the likes of Jordan Hamilton, William Mclaughlin, Daniel Milton, basically all the guys that I played with for the Under - 21’s and the Under-23’s. I know whoever is on that team will be going out there and playing their hardest.

You have been described as cocky and arrogant, would you agree with that?

No I don’t agree that I’m cocky and arrogant, I would say that I’m confident in myself. I know what I’m capable of doing and achieving. But I would say that sometimes that confidence gets me in trouble or it rubs people the wrong way. Just because majority of the time in serious whether that's on the street or in game doesn't mean I'm cocky and arrogant.

I have here your medical records, the last time you and I back in 2015 you were 5’5 (164cm), weighed 115 lbs. and had a muscle mass percentage of almost 78.2% while having 11% body fat which ranked in the 93rd percentile for boys your age. Now your records say that you’re 5’9 (176 cm), your muscle mass percentage of almost 90.7% while having 5.9% body fat which ranked in the 99rd percentile for boys your age. What changed essentially?

I began a stricter training program and diet. For my diet we increased the amount of calories I ate and had a work out program that consisted of intense muscle mass gaining. I owe a lot of my current condition to my trainer. He does an amazing job with me.

Do you have pre-game ritual?

I think every athlete has some kind of ritual that puts them in the zone whether its listening to music or being the last one out on the field.

In light of current world events, what is your opinion of what is going on in the world?

I think its extremely important what is going on, when people see things that isn’t right and is a cause for oppression and suppression we as a society need to community need to come together and mourn and then change and voice our opinions.

As an athlete sometimes people say, “Shut up and play your sport” what’s your response to that?

Firstly, I am more than an athlete, I’m a member of my community and even more than that I am a human. When I see another human being taken advantage of I won’t sit back and do nothing. I was brought up to take a stand and I will always voice my opinion when I see something that isn’t right.

Is it true that an offer came in from a variety of teams such as Sporting Lisbon, OG Nice, and Toronto FC to sign you after the pandemic?

I can’t comment too much on that as that’s my agents job. But yes I have a few offers on the table. Would I leave right after the pandemic, I’m not too sure. I know Chelsea asked Timo Werner to come a year earlier that when he was supposed to sign next year. I think there are a lot of factors at play. But I can’t rule it out.

Thank you, for taking the time Adnan and giving us an exclusive.

bottom of page