top of page

Canada's Estimated 2026 World Cup Line Up

As Canada celebrated Canada Day a month ago, we look into the future for the 2026 World Cup Squad, what formations should be used, and who makes our starting Xl.

While we're in quarantine we look towards the future.

As one of the hosts, Canada automatically qualifies yet Coach John Herdman should use the qualifying process to try out different formations and see which starting Xl gives him the best chance at progressing into the knockout round.

We have our expert panel consisting of former Canadian National Team Selector Johnathan DuCart, and former Canadian Women’s Team Member Sophie Kyle discuss who belongs in their starting 11 with tactical analysis and formations.

Canada’s Men’s 2026 roster by position

GOALKEEPERS (3): Dayn St. Clair, Gregory Ranjitsingh, Jayson Leutwiler

DEFENDERS (7): Marcus Godinho, Samuel Ayomide Adekugbe, Dominick Zator, Amer Didić, Kamal Anthony Miller, Donnie Henry, Juan Cordova

MIDFIELDERS (7): Samuel Piette, Johnathan Osorio, Mark-Anthony Kaye, Derek Cornelius, Jay Chapman, Mark-Anthony Kaye, Stephen Eustáquio

FORWARDS (6) Adnan Saffie, Johnathan David, Alphonso Davis, Charles-Andreas Brym, Cycle Larin, Liam Millar

Johnathan DuCart:

For me, I think John Herdman uses 3-5-2.

In a 3-5-2. He has to start Gregory Ranjitsingh in net. The only difference between him and Dayn St. Clair is his ball distribution. Gregory has worked at his pin point accuracy, and this will certain help to foster a counter attack and release pressure.

In the right centre back spot I would play Dominick Zator, his preferred foot is right and would be able to produce long balls over the opposing defenders to the forwards and the left wing back. Sweeper has to be Amer Đidić. Amer has the speed and experience to play sweeper and has done so in the past. At the left centre back Kamal Miller gets the nod over Donnie Henry because he is left footed dominant and I like to even out my defence.

At right-wing-back I would play Marcus Godinho. Marcus is more of an attacking full back and although he is prone to defensive issues he would help with the crossing and attacking link up with the forwards and midfielders.

My left-wing-back is a little controversial; I would play Alphonso Davis. Alphonso plays Left Back for Bayern so making him a wing back frees him and allows him get forward more.

My two centre midfields are Johnatha Osorio and Jay Chapman. These two already have an understanding from their Toronto FC days. They know each other and it will only continue by playing on that bond.

My centre-attacking-midfield is Samuel Piette. Samuel is playing really well in the CAM spot for Montreal and it seems like he has found his perfect position.

My two strikers are Johnathan David and Clyde Larin. Larin is a big target man that will hold up the ball and allow Johnathan to run in behind the defence like how the Giroud and Grizman play for France.

I can switch and plug in all the other players except Adnan Saffie and Derek Cornelius. Those two are not suited to play this formation but IF I was chasing and needed to score I would definitely play Adnan and Derek. Both those players have big personalities and I wouldn’t want that to disrupt the team harmony. For me team harmony is so important.

My X-Factor is Alphonso Davis. If he has a great tournament, Canada will go far. This team has big personalities, and lots of leaders but I think Alphonso Davis will have to lead from the front and take control.

Sophie Kyle:

While I understand why you played a 3-5-2. I would play a 4-2-3-1. I don’t understand how you can leave out Adnan and Derek. Yes both of them are big personality, big divas but you also want that when the game gets on the line cause they will yell and grind and communicate with the teammates to get the job done.

In Net: I am starting Dayn St. Clair

Dayn is an excellent in the air and always takes control of his box and is yelling out instructions. For me communication is vital.

At right-back I’m starting Marcus Godinho. Like Johnathan said, Marcus is an attacking full back and he and my right-wing will link up though he will have to play more of a defensive role.

My two centre-backs are Dominick Zator and Donnie Henry. Dominick’s strong foot is his right foot while Donnie’s is his left foot. I find that having a centre-back pairing that is right-left dominant is important as it helps when teams press.

My left-back is Samuel Adekugbe. Samuel is a defensive back. He is solid in defence and athough he doesn’t venture forward too much and provide assist through his crosses. He doesn’t put a foot wrong is is very stable.

My two centre-mids are the same as yours. I agree with you, having Johnathan Osorio and Jay Chapman. Having these two in the middle of the park gives Canada extra grit and attacking play. Both Osorio and Chapman aren’t afraid to tackle and challenge for the ball. It gives them energy and with the wingers I have selected they won’t have to do all the defensive work.

My left-wing is Alphonso Davis. What words are left to describe this young man. I think playing him in his favourite attacking position allows him to link up with the striker and right-wing. It frees him of his defensive responsibility and allows him to attack, and run at defenders.

My centre-attacking-midfield is Derek Cornelius. Derek pulling the strings and giving through balls for the forwards, Canada can go on a run and make some noise in this tournament Derek reminds me of Ozil, with his passing ability and his risk taking. If his pass goes wayward he is not afraid to run back, press and get the ball back.

My right-wing is a little of a surprise because he doesn’t usually play here. Adnan Saffie on the right wing. Adnan has pace to burn but although he is registered at 5’9, don’t let that fool you, he is excellent in the air. With his willingness to run and press he reminds me of a young Manchester United Cristiano Ronaldo. If there is a flaw with him game it is his defence; will he track back and help his full-back and he needs to look more for his teammates and set them up.

My striker is Johnathan David. Johnathan is a pacy striker and is willing to do the grunt work and press and play off the centre-backs and run behind.

My X-factor is Adnan Saffie. With defences focused on Alphonso Davis, he can have a great tournament. He needs to improve his passing and covering his full-back. He has a big personality and if it wasn’t for his two big injuries then he would be a household name. I’ve met Adnan on multiple times and he has always impressed me with his playing style.

Those are what our experts think, what do you think?

bottom of page